Why Become a Peer Advisor?

It’s that time of year again folks, and applications are currently open for the 2017-2018 CAS Peer Advising positions. As the current Peers reflect on their time on the job so far, we thought we would share some of our best advice and best moments from the past semester and a half.

Haleigh: “I love being a Peer Advisor because it allows me the opportunity to impart my advice to first-year students so they have the best possible experience while they’re at AU. There are tons of challenges people face when they first come to college–academically, financially, and in their personal life–and I’d like to think that the Peer Advising program was designed to lend a hand in overcoming obstacles in all of those areas. I also enjoy working alongside the Academic Advisors because it gives me a chance to understand the ins and outs of college advising. I would encourage anyone who genuinely loves to help people to apply to be a Peer Advisor. The job has tons of perks, but having a student leave the office feeling like they understand a little more how to navigate college on their own is probably the best reward.”

Samantha: “Being a Peer Advisor has been one of the most fun and rewarding jobs I’ve ever had. It’s so intriguing to get to know different CAS students and the exciting plans they have for the future! It’s also cool to be able to provide an honest student perspective on issues that affect freshmen and sophomores — from the pains of College Writing to the daunting task of choosing a major. My goal is always to help the students that I work with understand that they’re not alone, and that there really are people at AU who are rooting for them and are here for support.”

Julia: “It is my second year as a CAS Peer Advisor and it is so bittersweet to graduate because it means I’ll be leaving the position that shaped the second half of my undergraduate experience! Being a Peer has allowed me to learn about myself, expand my skill set, and just meet and talk to students about what’s going on in their lives at AU. It’s made me recognize that there is no one right way to do something and there is always a way to succeed if you set your mind to it! I am beyond grateful for those two lessons and I’ve made some great friends along the way!”

Sammie: “I have absolutely loved my time as a peer advisor so far! I love connecting with other students and learning about their experiences at AU. It’s really unique to be a student that works with other students, but I think that dynamic is part of what makes the peer advising program so successful. The position has helped me feel more rooted in the AU community, and I’ve met awesome people along the way”

There are so many amazing reasons to become a Peer Advisor! If you’re interested in applying for a position on next year’s team, please join us for an information session on Wednesday 2/15 from 4-5 pm or Wednesday 2/22 from 6-7 pm!

Leave a Reply

